Head

Recording magnetic dots on the drum active layer

In first commercial products (240 dpi), the individual head consisted of a 50 µm-thick Fe-Ni metal foil, whose main features were a thin recording pole, an elongated flux return shoe and a 90-turn coil.

Flowing an electric current (≈100 mA) through the coil creates a magnetic flux that flows through the head body, emerges from the recording pole tip, crosses vertically the drum Co-Ni-P recording layer, and loops back through the drum high permeability Fe-Ni sub-layer and long return shoe.

According to the laws of physics (conservation of magnetic flux), the induction is quite large under the pole tip and much weaker in the return shoe area.

After the current vanishes, and relaxation of the drum layers occurs, a dot remains magnetized under the write pole tip, while no significant magnetization subsists under the return shoe.

With third generation printers, the recording poles in the new HD module (480 dpi), operate according to similar principle: Magnetization of the drum active layer is still vertical, even if a 2D return plane replaces the discrete return poles, while the flat etched coil brings in a much greater efficiency.

Tête 480 dpi

The essential difference is to be found at the level of the fabrication processes utilized. The discrete micro-mechanical methods are replaced by the collective processes of silicon-based micro-electronics. The new module sports a silicon chip that includes by co-integration 480 poles, coils and diodes.

Return to Module

Return to Recording

Return to Print engine

Tête

Ecriture des dots de l’image magnétique latente

Dans les premiers produits commerciaux (240 dpi), la tête individuelle se compose d’une piste Fe-Ni de haute perméabilité magnétique (épaisseur 50 µm), possédant un pôle d’écriture étroit, un pôle de retour fortement allongé et un bobinage (90 tours).

L’activation du bobinage (≈ 100 mA) crée un flux magnétique canalisé par la piste qui, issu du pôle d’écriture, traverse verticalement la couche Co-Ni-P du tambour, puis la sous-couche Fe-Ni avant de se refermer par le pôle de retour.

La loi de conservation du flux magnétique fait que l’induction au droit du pôle d’écriture est fortement supérieure à celle qui règne sous le pôle de retour.

Après arrêt du courant et relaxation des matériaux magnétiques, le dot enregistré conserve une aimantation, alors que celle au niveau du pôle de retour est pratiquement négligeable.

Le principe de fonctionnement de la tête d’écriture du module HD 480 dpi (présent sur les machines de troisième génération) n’est pas fondamentalement différent : l’enregistrement du tambour reste du type perpendiculaire obtenu par un pôle d’écriture vertical. La bobine plate offre un meilleur rendement et les pôles de retour du flux sont aventageusement remplacés par un plan de retour commun à tous les pôles d’un même module.

Tête 480 dpi

La différence essentielle se situe au niveau des techniques de fabrication : procédés micro-mécaniques discrets remplacés par les procédés collectifs de la micro-électronique sur silicium. Le module comprend une puce silicium de 480 pôles d’écriture et 480 diodes co-intégrés. Un câble plat raccorde la puce à son connecteur.

Retour Module

Retour Ecriture

Retour Mécanisme

'